The Great Mother

reflecting on life: stories, wisdom, inspiration, aggravation

This Is Awesome February 25, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — emlott @ 6:16 pm

My friend Valerie called before my son was born (maybe early March 2006) to chat but to share some of her wisdom from caring for her newborn son born that January.  I remember she said a friend of hers vowed early on not to complain when things got rough in the middle of the night with her newborn; instead, she and her husband would simply say, “This is awesome.”  I thought of that often when my son was a newborn and am remembering that again not just in the middle of our newborn sleepless nights but in our transition to three-years-old and transition to managing two children and transition to no time for grown-ups to hang and on and on and on.  Oh, it’s so easy to whine and to give in to the grumpy.  I let the nights get the best of me sometimes, and it’s not pretty.  I want to remember Valerie’s friend, though, and just hold onto a nicer password even if it’s mumbled through clenched teeth: This. Is. Awesome.

(Happy Birthday to Valerie, by the way.)